About ACHE



James A. Hamilton Award

The James A. Hamilton Award is given annually to the author(s) of a management or healthcare book judged outstanding by ACHE's Book of the Year Committee. Nominations for the award are solicited from editors in the management publishing field. Created in 1958, the award is underwritten by the Alumni Association of the Graduate Program in Healthcare Administration of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in honor of the late James A. Hamilton, FACHE, the program's founder and course director between 1946 and 1966, and ACHE's 1939-1940 Chairman.

The 2014 winner has been selected: Carson F. Dye, FACHE, and Jacque J. Sokolov, MD, for Developing Physician Leaders for Successful Clinical Integration (Health Administration Press).

View James A. Hamilton Award winners.

Recommended Reading

The Book of the Year Committee recommends two additional books: Pursuing the Triple Aim: Seven Innovators Show the Way to Better Care, Better Health, and Lower Costs, by Maureen A. Bisognano and Charles Kenney, published by Jossey-Bass, A Wiley Imprint, and Renegotiating Health Care: Resolving Conflict to Build Collaboration, by Leonard J. Marcus, Barry C. Dorn and Eric J. McNulty, published by Jossey-Bass, A Wiley Imprint.

For additional information, please contact Gerard J. Berish, CAE, regional director, Division of Regional Services, at (312) 424-9323 or gberish@ache.org.