About ACHE



Dean Conley Award

Named for ACHE's executive director from 1942 to 1965, the Dean Conley Award was established in 1958 and is granted annually by ACHE to recognize contributions to healthcare management literature and to encourage healthcare executives to write and publish articles. Nominations for the award are solicited from editors of healthcare and management-oriented magazines and journals. Award winners are selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The 2013 winner has been selected: Leonard M. Fleck, PhD, for his article “'Just' Care: Who Decides?” published in the January 2012 issue of Health Progress, the official journal of the Catholic Health Association of the United States.

Recommended Reading

The Article of the Year Awards Committee recommends two additional articles: “Diagnostic Error: The Hidden Epidemic,” by Mark L. Graber, MD, and Bob Carlson, from the November 2011 issue of Physician Executive Journal; and “The Ethics of Cost Control,” by Leonard J. Weber, PhD, from the November 2011 issue of Health Progress.

View Dean Conley Award winners.

For additional information, please contact Gerard J. Berish, CAE, regional director, Division of Regional Services, at (312) 424-9323 or gberish@ache.org.