ACHE Message Boards

Connect with colleagues on this online forum.
Welcome to ACHE Message Boards Sign in | Join | Help
in
Home Blogs Forums

What to do after my Bachelor's degree

Last post 02-04-2013, 1:11 by MBroscio. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  01-31-2013, 6:34 9826

What to do after my Bachelor's degree

Hi, I just recently graduated with my BSHA degree in Health Administration (with the concentration of healthcare management), and I am now a new member of ACHE. I live in the state of Florida, and I am desperately looking to gain experience in the healthcare field. I have no experience and more than willing to train. Furthermore, I just recently gotten laid off of my job as Auxiliary Agent at Pre-Flight Services because my position became obsolete. I have been trying to get in the field of healthcare from the time I was in school, and it has been very difficult. I am now looking for work with training, and I am trying to figure out where and how I can begin. I have done some reading and I am not sure if this is true (sometimes we cannot believe everything we read). They say that I must have a master's degree in order to get in or to get any training. So now I am stuck trying to figure out rather to find work in anything and anywhere (or be specific about where to apply), and go for my Master's now or go for my Master's after I get my foot in the door some how. What should I do, and how should I approach this?

Thank you!

•  01-31-2013, 9:20 9827 in reply to 9826

Re: What to do after my Bachelor's degree

GTerry,

I know you are looking for paid employment but have you considered voluteering a few hours a week.  This will get you in the door and allow you to network with other health care professionals.  I am finishing my Master in Health Care Administration.  I am trying to do a total career switch ( from banking to healthcare).  I am also a new member to ACHE.  I am going to start volunteering this month at an area hospital.