ACHE Message Boards

Connect with colleagues on this online forum.
Welcome to ACHE Message Boards Sign in | Join | Help
in
Home Blogs Forums

How do I get to the next step in my career?

Last post 06-04-2012, 2:27 PM by CHefter. 2 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  04-10-2012, 7:12 PM 9744

How do I get to the next step in my career?

I just joined ACHE.org and currently am employed in human resources(staff level) at healthcare organization in the Tristate area(new york). I am in my 2nd semester, 1st year for my Masters in Healthcare Administration Degree, where I would like to become an healthcare administrator. I just went to my first networking event last week, where I connected with a few VP's at competitor hospitals. I do not want to move to another organization but should I keep in touch with a VP competitor?

Here are my main questions:

How do I know what area in the hospital stetting to apply to and what type of position? I have been looking at manger and supervisor qualifications and I do not have the supervisory experience which is required for most of these positions. So, how can I get to the hospital? My director has told me that I can shadow an executive, but if I don't know who they are, why would they take out time in their busy day to speak with me? 

Thank you for all your suggestions in advance! 

•  04-16-2012, 9:40 AM 9746 in reply to 9744

Re: How do I get to the next step in my career?

Re: your first question of talking to a VP competitor, absolutely.  You need to network where and when you can and keep all options open.  Check the ACHE website and under Career Services, you will find the Career Management Network (Affiliates Only).  You can access other ACHE members for networking.  Also, see the Leadership Mentoring Network.