ACHE Message Boards

Connect with colleagues on this online forum.
Welcome to ACHE Message Boards Sign in | Join | Help
in
Home Blogs Forums

Choosing between a traditional MBA program and an MBA program which has a Healthcare Management specialty

Last post 02-16-2010, 12:42 PM by RMorton. 5 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  11-20-2009, 10:44 AM 9431

Choosing between a traditional MBA program and an MBA program which has a Healthcare Management specialty

I have come to the point in my career where I realize that I cannot go any further without a Master's degree in management. I am wondering if there are any Healthcare Execs on this network that could give me some honest advise about the importance of the type of MBA program you attend.

I have a background in both clinical and marketing research. I have over 10 years experience working for top research hospitals and a fortune 500 company.  My experience level has allowed me to rise to my current level without a Master's thus far but I know I will need it to get to the executive level.

Does is make a significant difference whether or not you get an MBA in Healthcare Management? And how important is the reputation and "brand awareness" of the school. Basically, I am choosing between a traditional MBA at a more well known school that is affordable and an MBA in Healthcare Management program at a lesser known school that is 3 times the cost.

Thanks in advance for your response.

Sincerely,

Afua 

•  12-23-2009, 8:07 PM 9448 in reply to 9431

Re: Choosing between a traditional MBA program and an MBA program which has a Healthcare Management specialty

Hello Afua,

I came to the same crossroad that you are now confronted with, I choose a straight MBA.  My thinking was this... an MBA is more portable and extendable to many industries.  I felt that an MBA could be utilized in the hospital environment as well as any other should the need arise.