ACHE Message Boards

Connect with colleagues on this online forum.
Welcome to ACHE Message Boards Sign in | Join | Help
in
Home Blogs Forums

How may I transition into a management position?

Last post 04-08-2009, 2:53 PM by CHarris. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  02-25-2009, 10:24 AM 8931

How may I transition into a management position?

• I am an Occupational Therapist and Certified Hand Therapist.
    • I have willingly accepted many Leadership and Management roles; I have been praised many times for my leadership talent.
    • After applying for three management positions, going through the interview process and not receiving the job, I asked for constructive criticism. The response from three different sources was repeated, I have the qualifications, a position will open up in the future.
    • Do I need to be patient?  Should I go back to school to receive my MBA?
    • Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
  •  03-18-2009, 2:10 PM 8979 in reply to 8931

Re: How may I transition into a management position?

Interesting that you receive the response that you are qualified, but yet didn't receive the promotion.  I would wonder based on what you've written if there is something you could do to enhance your resume or interview skills?  Obviously extra education doesn't hurt, but in this case it sounds like that is not a problem or it is simply an excuse for lack of solid feedback.  Perhaps you could arrange to visit with some of the interviewers and obtain a more detailed outline of why you were not selected.  In the meantime I would continue to accept leadership/management roles within your organization, but perhaps also in a community setting as well, which leads to a more rounded appearance on applications. 
  •  03-27-2009, 10:38 AM 8985 in reply to 8979

Dear C. Harris,